Skip to main content
Connected Modules

Put modules next to tasks on the task board to provide off-ramps to learner progression, organize content, and more.

James Carlson avatar
Written by James Carlson
Updated over a week ago

Often when building modules in Headrush, one will ponder how to best structure them:

  • How to manage a project within a seminar?

  • How to group related team projects into one view?

  • How to relate a series of modules by a particular subject, theme, or timeframe?

  • How do I build the ultimate learning experience that combines the best of teacher-led scaffolding with the freedom and flexibility for learners to follow their inspirations?

Structuring can be as simple as adding/organizing tasks and columns within one module, creating separate modules and tagging them, or both at once— creating multiple modules and tasks and connecting them.

The benefits include:

  • Clearer communication of the connections between related work

  • Easier navigation to related learning

  • Different viewpoints to reference collections of modules

Here's how it works.

Overview

Understanding connected modules

It's easy to think of a connected module like a link between two modules. When a module is connected, it appears as a card on the task board of a different module. The connected module can be opened and used like any other module, without leaving the task board.

However, it remains an independent module:

  1. Changes to a module do not affect connected modules.

  2. Each module has independent learners, creators, and advisors.

  3. Disconnecting a module does not delete it.

  4. Modules can be connected to multiple modules.

  5. If a module is deleted, it will also be deleted from modules to which it is connected.

Connect a module

  1. Open any module's task board.

  2. In the column where you want the connected module, click to add a module at the bottom or the top.

  3. Search to find the module(s) you want to add to the task board, then click done.

Use a connected module

Drag and drop modules just like tasks. Click on any module to open it. Click to view the Task board and Overview. Edit the module just like any other module. When ready, invite learners to the connected module.

Disconnect a module

Click on a connected module's menu to disconnect it from the task board. This removes the module from the task board, but does not delete it or change it in any other way. So, if learners are involved, they will remain involved and will still find the module on My Modules.

See which modules are connected

When modules are connected, an indicator will appear in the module's card on My Modules, or at the top when viewing a module. Click the indicator to see which modules are connected, and then click on the connected module to open it.

# # #

Did this answer your question?